Graphophobia

Moderator: Book Club Heads

Prof. Polaris Black
Comet 140

Graphophobia

Post by Prof. Polaris Black »

I am a technical writer, trained to be concise and effective. For me, Drabble Babbles are fun and writing precisely 100 words is an irresistible challenge.

But when I am presented with a homework option that is 300 words minimum, I become a Graphophobe, having "an exaggerated or irrational dislike of writing". I dread having to work with a word counter, just to ensure that I meet the minimum number of words. And of course, I'm always unhappy with the results. So I will always choose another option if I have the chance.

I tried to overcome the fear by participating in a month long roleplay activity, which helped a little but points weren't involved.

Any suggestions?
A "Cassie Sig" is priceless - thank you so much!
Reggy Faraday
No broom

Re: Graphophobia

Post by Reggy Faraday »

I have a similar kind of experience, since I primarily write short stories that pretty short, even by that convention. I also hated longer essays in school.

Usually, I come at longer assignments with the idea of expansion. Like, I'll write some key points on a sticky note, and then draft out the things I have to say about those things. From that draft, I can begin to see what could use more explanation, or what questions come up from what I've written that I could address. Sometimes I'd worry about redundancy or needlessly over-explaining things, but most of the time, it's not really needless. I think it's good to help your reader keep in step with your thinking, especially since they're not there in your head with you! It might only feel redundant to you because you knew what you were going to write going into the project.